explosive eight-month-old

November 30, 2010

I’m still waiting for the day that one of these month-in-review titles begins with a word like peaceful, serene, or calm. But, because I procreated with the world’s most spontaneous and energetic and impulsive guy I’ve ever known, I guess I won’t hold my breath.

So. Here’s what you’ve been up to in the past month:

All month long you’ve been pulling yourself up on everything, and in the past couple weeks, you’ve figured out how to walk along the couch, chair, my face, and the dog. I am for real afraid that you will be walking soon. 

You also figured out how to climb the stairs, and ever since, you’ve been drawn to the stairway like a magnet. I can’t tell you how many times a day I say “Come Here! No! Come Here!” and then have to rip you away from the stairs. And also the dog food. 

It appears you have no sensory appreciation for pain. Because you will hit your head on the same coffee table 57 times in one minute and still insist on forcing yourself under the table because THERE’S A BUG UNDER THERE AND I SHOULD EAT IT!

You are still not sleeping, and in the past couple weeks you’ve taken your “sleeplessness” to a whole new level. I am starting to think you look at night time like a game and the only rule is to wake up as many times as possible between the hours of 9 p.m. and 7 a.m. Bonus points for punching mom in the head. 

You’ve taken to grunting and you grunt allllll. day. long. And you have also developed this adorable squeak/peep that you do when you’re hungry. You also whisper to yourself as you crawl around. 

Added to the list of states you’ve been to are Indiana and Illinois. 

You thoroughly enjoyed your first Thanksgiving, especially the opportunity to play with your cousins and try to eat people’s faces off.

Your dad is the only person who NEVER calls you by your real name. Here are some of the things he calls you instead:

CC, Senna, Munchkin, Kicker, Sass, Bam-Bam or just Bam, Hulk, and Rambo

Some of your adorable mannersims that I know I’ll look back on and miss, and that I’ll choose to remember instead of all the nights you refused to let me sleep for more than 45 minutes at a time:

The way you wrap your legs around my arms like a monkey when I’m feeding you, and start panting like a starved dog until you get food in your mouth

The way, when you’re realllllly tired,  I can lay you down for a nap and your head instantly snaps to the left and you bring your knees up to your face. This is the way you always fall aslseep and when I see you go straight into that position, I sigh a sigh of relief becuase it means you just might sleep for more than 20 minutes.

The way you love to “make friends” by attacking the face of anyone within reach. No one is off limits, including other babies in the church nursery. 

You love when anyone copies you–so you’ll fake cough, fake snort, scream, or squeal until someone does the same thing back to you.

Some of my favorite pictures from the past month:

 


Leave a Reply

