Sassy 7-month-old

October 30, 2010

Today the Wylde Child turns 7-months-old, and she is equal parts Sweet and Sassy. While I love her energy, strength, and spunk, the feistiness that runs through her entire body can quickly turn against you when she is not getting her way. And believe me, she knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to protest when she doesn’t get it. Although it’s been fun in the past month to watch her blow through incredible physical milestones, her ability to stand and crawl around has made sleeping a challenge. Meaning SHE DOESN’T. Because why lay down and sleep when you can do laps round and round and round in your crib. Welcome back, my little cat napper.

In the past month you have:

Mastered crawling and you fully embrace your ability to go from playing with toys in the living room to splashing around in the dog’s water dish in the blink of an eye. But, in pure crazy-baby fashion, you have already gotten bored with crawling and  now you’re pulling yourself up on EVERYthing. Trying to……dare I even throw this out there…..walk. I hope we can make it through a few more months though before I am posting walking pictures. 

Taken your first plane ride.

Played with lots of other babies close to your age, and I’ve had to tell you numerous times “Stop hitting her!” “Don’t force yourself on him!” “Not everyone has to be your friend!” I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that even your “social skills” are aggressive.

Gotten your first 2 teeth! And with your first tooth came your first runny nose.

Celebrated your first Halloween! 

What you’re eating:

Carrots, beets, squash, avocado, peas, pears, bananas, applesauce, sweet potatoes. Your favorite is squash and apples mixed together.

Things you love to do:

You LOVE when anyone copies you, so you fake cough, fake laugh, fake squeal, fake scream, and then pause and wait until someone does it back to you. Once they do, you’ll fake cough in their face for as long as they’re willing to play along and cough back at you.

You LOVE hitting anything you can get your hands on.

You LOVE pulling yourself up to standing all by yourself. It’s so weird walking into the room and seeing some kid standing there. What happened to my baby???

You LOVE rough-housing. You and your dad will “wrestle” and play until 9 or 10 at night and you just squeal.

You LOVE snorting (which is what you do when you’re fake-laughing). 

Some of my favorite pictures from the past month:

 

 

 


Overall, you are an absolute firestorm of energy raging around our house and I can’t wait to see how you’ll harness that as you grow up. We know that whatever you decide you want to do in life, you’ll find a way to get it done. You are determined, strong-willed, and stubborn–some of your best qualities and, at times, most challenging for me as your mother. But I love you, even though you exhaust me at times, and I wouldn’t change a single thing about you. I love spending the day with you, and hearing your deep, raspy, husky laugh just once instantly makes me forget all the times you SCREAM at me because LEAVE ME ALONE SO I CAN KEEP CHEWING ON THIS ELECTRICAL CORD, MOM! 




Leave a Reply

