my independence day

April 18, 2010

I am celebrating today for my wonderful daughter had her first bottle!

For those of you who do not have  children, and have never been in the position to be the only person who can provide life-sustaining nurishment to another human being, I realize that means nothing to you.

But for those of you who have endured breast feeding, and have had a baby literally latched on to you for pretty much 24 hours a day, obliterating your ability to shower, pee, eat, exercise, sleep, shop, or do anything else normal people do, you can understand my enthusiasm.

I’ve mastered the pump, and am storing up a stock pile of breast milk in bottles in the freezer and you have no idea how happy that makes me. Oh the possibilities! I can take a shower and actually put makeup on and do my hair without fear that my child will starve or scream herself into cardiac arrest.

“What Jared? The baby’s crying and shoving her fists into her mouth while viciously trying to latch on to your ear lobe?? Well guess what, there’s a bottle in the freezer so YOU FEED HER!”

OK, so since I am home all day and actually don’t mind breast feeding, chances are, he wont feed her that often.

But it’s nice to know that now he can.

Leave a Reply

