Monday reality check: 5 weeks to go

February 22, 2010

Babies don’t really need cribs and changing tables do they?

I am exactly 35 weeks pregnant today. Or you could say I have 5 weeks to go. Or you could say “we’re so screwed if this baby comes early” which is what I say about 357 times each day.

We had our first baby shower over the weekend and got a lot of great stuff including the stroller/car seat combo contraption that we picked out. I love it and am proud that we FINALLY have something substantially “babyish” in the house.

But we are still nowhere ready for this baby to make its arrival. Don’t get me wrong, we’re very excited to meet this person who has been entertaining us with its kicks and punches, and the way its huge feet pushing against me cause my stomach to bulge out 3 inches and really really confuse the dog.

Too bad being excited does NOT equal being prepared. Did I just think it would stay in there forever? Did I figure that for the rest of my life I’d have to sit 2 fit away from my computer keyboard and stand 2 feet away from the kitchen sink, because my belly is going to stick out like this and be in my way forever? Did I think that for the rest of my life, I’d be physically incapable of peeing without farting?? Did I think I could walk around with my jeans unbuttoned and unzipped forever, and have a perfectly good excuse for doing so?

Apparently so.

But then I stand up in the morning or finish a workout and I feel a little contraction….and reality hits me: this baby is comin, and it’s comin soon.

Whether we’re ready or not!

One Response to “Monday reality check: 5 weeks to go”

  1. Don’t panic about that baby coming and not be ready! You’ll never be completely ready, no matter what you do. New moms feel like they have to get everything they see in the store for the baby, but the reality is quite different. You really need just a few things to start with, like diapers, wipes and a car seat. I recently put together a list of baby gear items that are really not necessary to spend lots of dollars on. Check it out and don’t sweat the idea of needing all that, you really don’t.
    http://perfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com/2010/06/03/baby-gear-dont-waste-your-money-on-these-items/

Leave a Reply

